Naval Ships

Besides the obvious (military armaments), there are other distinctions between Navy ships and commercial ships. Naval ships are constructed with stronger materials in order to withstand attacks. These ships are also designed not for luxury, but for optimum performance by the ship’s crew to get their jobs completed, whether that be general routine service or carrying out an attack mission.

The classifications for United States Navy ships are as follows:

Aircraft Carrier – Ships that provide ocean airbases in order to conduct combat operations by on board aircraft (planes and helicopters).

Surface Combatant –  Heavily armed ships which designed to engage enemy forces in any of the world’s oceans. This category includes battleships, battlecruisers, cruisers, destroyers and frigates.

Submarine – Underwater vehicles that provide military support and/or attack arsenals against the enemy. Navy submarines can be categorized as attack, nuclear, auxiliary, research and development or nuclear. In the year 2000 , it was the 100th anniversary of the U.S. Navy’s submarine force.

Patrol Combatant – Ships that provide sea keeping missions, with a capability of operations exceeding 48 hours or more without support.

Amphibious warfare – ships that can operate on both on the land and sea.

Support – ships designed to provide general support to the other ships in the high seas.

In order of tonnage (largest to smallest), the classification is as follows:·         Aircraft carrier

·         Battleship

·         Helicopter carrier

·         Battlecruiser

·         Pocket battleship

·         Cruiser

·         Destroyer

·         Frigate

·         Corvette

·         Patrol boat

·         Fast attack craft

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *